• APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies
  • APEC Economies


Handover Secretariat Responsibility Ceremony from Malaysia Secretariat to New Secretariat, People's Republic of China, October 11, 2016

Handover Ceremony

Home About APEC Architect Architect Framework
APEC Architect Framework PDF Print E-mail

The APEC Architect Project is based on a framework agreed to by participating economies. In essence this involves:

  • Participating economies
  • A standard for being an APEC Architect, agreed to by particapting economies
  • The online Register of APEC Architects, provided in sections by participating economies
  • Overall governance provided by a Central Council that typically meets every two years
  • Administrative Monitoring Committees within each participating economy
  • An Operating Manual that lays out the projects rules and procedures
  • A secretariat that provides administrative services.

Participating Economies

The APEC Architect Project has 14 participating economies. The word 'economies' is used to describe APEC members because the APEC cooperative process is predominantly concerned with trade and economic issues, with members engaging with one another as economic entities.

The Standard for Being an APEC Architect

Participating economies have agreed to a set of requirements and standards that must be met by an architect from any participating economy to be accepted and recorded as an APEC Architect.

The APEC Architect criteria is based on:

  • A recognised architectural education
  • A minimum period of post-graduate practical experience, with specified requisites
  • Registration, licensing or other requirements for full professional recognition
  • A minimum period of professional practice as a registered or licensed architect, with specified requisites.

More information on what's required to be an APEC Architect is available here.

Architects deemed by their monitoring committees to fulfill these requirements are eligible for registration as an APEC Architect.

The Register

The names of APEC Architects are recorded on an online register. The register is divided into sections based on the participating economies which are each hosted by the participating economies.

Central Council

The Central Council has ultimate responsibility for all matters relating to the APEC Architect framework. The Council comprises at least one representative of each Monitoring Committee. The Council is responsible for authorising Monitoring Committees to maintain their sections of the Register. Typically the Council meets every two years.

A decision to permit an economy to join the project rests with the Central Council.

The Central Council's decisions are generally reached by consensus and are not binding on the regulatory authorities of participating economies.

Monitoring Committees

Responsibility for the project within participating economies is delegated to monitoring committees. The duties of the monitoring committees include the following:

  • Manage and make determinations on applications from architects within economies to become APEC Architects
  • Operate the APEC Architect Register within each economy
  • Provide representatives to the Central Council
  • Make public information about the APEC Architect Project.

Monitoring Committees are the constituent bodies of the Central Council. They  nominate one or more representatives to the Council, with each Monitoring Committee entitled to one vote.

More information on the monitoring committees is available here.

Operating Manual

The projects rules and procedures are encapsulated in an operating manual which is updated every two years. The Operating Manual can be viewed here.


Administrative services for the project are provided by a secretariat. More information is available here.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 14 January 2015 18:14